Do I have to give employees a lunch break?

Employers have many questions concerning meal breaks: Are you required to give an employee a lunch break?  Is it only for those who work 8 hours?  How long should an employee lunch be?  30 minutes?  1 hour?  Should it be paid or not paid?  Did you know that only 20 states require private employers to …

Continue reading Do I have to give employees a lunch break?

How often do I need to pay an employee?

State laws differ on how often you must pay your staff.  The regulations range from "no specific regs" (Alabama and South Carolina) to "depending on your occupation" (California and Michigan).  Most states require two pay days a month.  More Information: See the chart from the US Department of Labor for specifics concerning your area: http://www.dol.gov/whd/state/payday.htm What …

Continue reading How often do I need to pay an employee?